Community discussions

MikroTik App

nickcarr
just joined
Topic Author

Wireguard in a "hub-and-spoke" topology

Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:21 pm

Hi all.
I'm pretty new with WireGuard. I tested with some RB750 with 7.1beta6 (Development) software. I had R0, R1, R2, R3, R4. Each one (from R1 to R4) has it's own WG connection with R0.
I used same UDP port for all the WG VPNs. It was fine! After some days all the WG interfaces (in R0) were down, but one.
I loaded my backups, but nothing. So i started from zero. But, once again: the first WG iface goes up, the others go up only if i choose an other UDP port. Then they start working.
It's not a problem, to me, but i was sure i could use the same port for all WG VPNs.
Do you have same behaviours?
Thanks in advance.

mfrey

Re: Wireguard in a "hub-and-spoke" topology

Tue Jul 13, 2021 9:24 pm

You can't share the same port between multiple WireGuard interfaces. You can, however, add all routers as peers to a single interface. This way you can connect them all using only a single port.

oreggin
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Mon Aug 30, 2021 2:35 pm

WireGuard is not for HUB&Spoke. Its seems it is only P2P, and if Spokes has random global addresses, you might add billions of peers on the HUB.
WireGuard is for whom has two dedicated fix global IP addresses on the two end, and Layer3 tunneling is enough. Then you gets an encrypted and fast IP tunnel.

mjbnz
just joined

Tue Sep 07, 2021 2:31 am

WireGuard is not for HUB&Spoke. Its seems it is only P2P, and if Spokes has random global addresses, you might add billions of peers on the HUB.
WireGuard is for whom has two dedicated fix global IP addresses on the two end, and Layer3 tunneling is enough. Then you gets an encrypted and fast IP tunnel.
That is incorrect - Wireguard operates quite successfully with only one peer having a fixed IP. You configure the peer IP to be
, which allows the other peer device to have a non-fixed IP.