Community discussions

MikroTik App

jking99
just joined
Topic Author

Firewall rules don't seem to be doing anything.

Mon Oct 04, 2021 4:32 pm

Hello, I'm pretty new to Mikrotik but have dealt with some switches, routers, and firewalls over my years. I recently picked up an rb4011 when I changed to AT&T Fiber internet. Everything seems to be working. I have a BGW320-500 with a built in ONT so I don't think I'm going to be able to sidestep the gateway. I've been running it in ip-passthrough mode but it seems like it's still doing something. I've been trying to setup my firewall and port forwarding and nothing seems to stick. Even just something as basic as accepting ICMP isn't working. I've made a couple of really basic NAT rules to forward traffic to servers inside my network that doesn't seem to be working either. Maybe I'm just lacking in some basic understanding of the RouterOS firewall? I've added the basic rules. You can see I've tried to do this a couple different ways but nothing has really worked.
/ip firewall filter
add action=accept chain=forward connection-nat-state=dstnat connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=ether1 \
    src-address=0.0.0.0
add action=accept chain=input connection-state=established,related,new in-interface=ether1 src-address=0.0.0.0
add action=accept chain=input icmp-options=8:0-255 protocol=icmp
add action=jump chain=input jump-target=icmp protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=icmp comment="echo reply" icmp-options=0:0 protocol=icmp
add action=accept chain=icmp comment="net unreachable" icmp-options=3:0 protocol=icmp
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface-list=WAN
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat in-interface-list=WAN port=80 protocol=tcp to-addresses=192.168.10.25
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat in-interface-list=WAN port=80 protocol=udp to-addresses=192.168.10.25
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat comment=web dst-port=80 in-interface-list=WAN log=yes log-prefix=web protocol=tcp to-addresses=\