Community discussions

MikroTik App

manwithaproblem
just joined
Topic Author

Same LAN network on two Mikrotik wAP ac r2 RBwAPG-5HacD2HnD

Thu Nov 11, 2021 9:48 am

Greetings,

I have a use case where I need two WIFI access points on the same LAN network with an approximate 30-50m distance between them. One connects to a hardware device (which is not connected to the internet, we do not need internet connection) and we use the network to use and manage that device through a mobile app on both sides where access points will be mounted. A friend recommended Mikrotik wAP ac r2 RBwAPG-5HacD2HnD to me saying we should use 5g to make a bridge between both mikrotik units and 2.4g for wifi.

In the past we only had one cisco or netgear router and it was fairly easy for me to set it up, but now we had to exapand to two AP to avoid bad signal and connection drops in the app. My problem now however is that I am completely new to Mikrotik user interface and have no idea how to set this up, nor have I found any instructions related to my issue that would help me solve it. I'd kindly ask if anyone is able to provide help on this matter.

bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Same LAN network on two Mikrotik wAP ac r2 RBwAPG-5HacD2HnD

Sat Nov 20, 2021 6:36 pm

One of the many possible setups:

wAP1: used as AP on 2.4GHz and as AP for the 5 GHz link. This wAP1 is also the DHCP server and has all other network services as needed (e.g. DNS...)
wAP2: used as AP on 2.4 GHz and as client for the 5 GHz link. This wAP has no extra services in this setup.
The whole network is bridged as just one transparant L2 network.

wAP1:
- set wlan1 as AP, set all needed 802.11 parameters
- set wlan2 as 5 GHz "AP-bridge" mode
- add wlan1,wlan2,ether1 to a software bridge
- set DHCP server on that bridge if needed. All services are set on the bridge only !

wAP2:
-set wlan1 as AP (can be different or equal to the wAP1 settings)