Community discussions

MikroTik App

bcsteeve
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Post-fire hardware recommendations

Wed Nov 24, 2021 9:33 am

Hey there. I'm not a network engineer by any means. I'm perhaps a slightly better-than-average home networking guy.

Back in summer 2018, my house burned down. Prior to that, I had a RB2011UiAS-IN. I used that (as opposed to the all-in-one thing my ISP provided) because I was sharing my Internet with my neighbor (beaming across the street using directional antennae) and wanted to keep our LAN separate, so I read up on VLAN and realized my equipment didn't handle that. 3 hours Googling later, I had ordered a Mikrotik. I remember being SUPER frustrated with it (way over my head) but eventually I worked it out and enjoyed the control.

Ok, so fast forward to 2021. My house is back, I'm no longer sharing Internet with my neighbor (who's wife wasn't too cool with their "ISP" suddenly disappearing!), and I don't have any particular "need" for anything beyond what my ISP provides (which is an Actiontec T3200M)

But every once in a while I'm frustrated by what my router can't do. From no QoS to no VPN client support, to just being a huge power hungry ugly box, to my wifi sucking because the all-in-one is buried in my basement where my fibre comes in.

So I'm keen on buying something better. Should I go Mikrotik again? Or for my purpose, am I better off with a consumer product? Or a mix?

I'm thinking a wired router with an SFP cage so I can plug the fiber directly in (ie. ditch the ISP router/modem/WAP beast) and then I can put a WAP or two (mesh maybe?) where it makes sense.