Community discussions

MikroTik App

MooseOnTheLoose
just joined
Topic Author

VPN over cellular personal hotspot

Tue Dec 07, 2021 11:24 pm

Hi yall,

I am still learning about networking, but currently looking to get this vpn working for holiday travel.
Device: RB4011iGS
What I am trying to do: VPN into my home network and have access to all things including the ability to rd to my desktop or ssh into my raspberry pi through my phone's personal hotspot.
What I have done so far: So far I have setup a vpn through the quick set menu and it is currently working. I can enable the vpn on my iphone through cellular and access my home network no problem.
What I am having trouble with: I figured that there are 2 options. Connect my laptop to my phone via personal hotspot and 1: vpn with the phone or 2: vpn with the laptop. I have tried both, but my laptop cannot access any of my home devices. An indication that I am connected is that my internet browsing is utilizing the pihole that I have setup on my home network.

I would like to get this sorted out if possible and if it's not I would like to understand why. Also, if there is some documentation or a video on this, please share. I would like to learn what and why I am doing something rather than just following a recipe.

Thanks!

RobWX1N
just joined

Re: VPN over cellular personal hotspot

Wed Dec 08, 2021 7:59 pm

I've had issues with some cellular providers blocking some VPNs; however, if you're sure you're connected and browsing out through your home internet connection when connected remotely via VPN, that's probably not your issue.

Is your remote computer getting an internal IP address on a different subnet than the rest of your home network perhaps? If so, perhaps you need to either masquerade the VPN subnet, or have the VPN server give your computer an IP in the same subnet as the rest of your home devices.