Community discussions

MikroTik App

p3ter
just joined
Topic Author

Why so hard to give friendly name to a client?

Mon Dec 20, 2021 4:52 pm

In most Routers/Firewalls/HotSpots I have used, there is some very simple & consistent method of giving a friendly/memorable name to a client, which is used throughout the interface. Usually it works by treating the 'Hostname' field as a multi-purpose field that would contain in the worst case a Mac Address (if the client does not set a host name), otherwise the HostName , but where the field contents can be overwritten with a friendly name identifying the host in a language I understand a little better than hexadecimal...

As a RouterOS newbie I really struggle with the lack of a consistent approach to this - for example in DHCP Server I can add a 'Comment' to give a friendly name to a client, but that comment remains local to only the DHCP window - if I navigte to 'Kid Control' I lose my DHCP assigned comment, but here, (in Kid Control) instead of 'Active Hostname' I have 'Name' - and here I can override that name into a friendly name (which will not appear anywhere else in RouterOS...)

If I open My Mikrotik Home app and navigate to 'Clients', I see a MAC address if the client did not supply a Hostname - and again here I need to navigate to 'Edit device Details', and rename the device with my friendly name...

Open Dude Server... Here we go again - no friendly name, and another need to rename the client.

...and so on... I actually found myself writing down MAC addresses with a pen and paper... and I can barely read my own writing...

If RouterOS can't be consistent about this, at least it would be helpful if 'DCHP Client Comment' could be 'Global' - and an available column anywhere I see the MAC address assoicated with that client, seen EVERYWHERE in all RouterOS windows, apps etc.

holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Why so hard to give friendly name to a client?

Mon Dec 20, 2021 4:58 pm