Community discussions

MikroTik App

Rj24
just joined
Topic Author

HAP Ac2 - Need help with Vlans and PiHole DNS

Thu Dec 23, 2021 9:56 pm

I am a Mikrotik/RouterOS noob and in general am not at all an expert in networking. The Vlan setup has been killing me. I have read through PCUnite's examples and have been trying to implement the RouterSwitchAP.rsc example. My setup is as follows:

Hap Ac2 with 5 Ethernet ports:
1 - WAN
2 - Attached to 2 Unmanaged 8 port Switches daisy chained. Multiple ethernet ports going to various rooms are connected to these switches, some of the ports are occupied with a printer and other devices - including 2 raspberry Pis, one running HomeAssistant at 192.168.0.200 and one pi at 192.168.0.151 running a pihole docker container generating a separate pihole DNS ip of 192.168.0.210. The pi at 192.168.0.151 also runs a Wireguard server.
3 - TV
4 - Soon to be installed Ethernet camera system
5 - currently unused

The router has 2 wifi ports (2 and 5 Mhz bands)
I'm trying to setup a separate Vlan use vlan tag filtering as follows (and have followed as closely as possible and/or adapted the Router-Switch-API configuration to do so):
- guest wifi (PVID 20)
- cameras (PVID 3),
- wifi enabled light switches (PVID 30)
- wifi untrusted devices (PVID 50, no internet and otherwise more isolated),
- vlan for ethernet 4 (PVID 4)
- vlan for ethernet 5 (PVID 5),
- a management VLAN (the BASE in pcunite's example) (PVID 99) - includes all hardwired ethernet devices plugged into the unmanaged switches that are plugged into ethernet 2 (devices include the pihole), plus the 2 and 5 Ghz virtual network containing same SSID (AcmeWireless)

Problems I am having: