Community discussions

MikroTik App

3blu3
just joined
Topic Author

Wireless Networking (Router-APs topology)

Mon Jan 24, 2022 4:11 pm

Hi everyone!

I'm new to MikroTik routers and APs (and wireless networking specificaly) and I was wondering if I can create a wireless network using the MikroTik RB750Gr3 hEX (wich has no wireless adapters) as my main router and some APs (such as Access Point MikroTik SXTsq 5 ac, for example) by connecting the APs to the RB750Gr3.

My objective is to separate the LAN from the WLANs, creating some separation between them and to create more than one wireless network (secure, guest, and maybe one for IOT).

The question is, can I achieve my objective with these devices?

Sorry if this is a bit basic, but I'm kinda new to wireless networking and I'm a bit overwhelmed with all of the options.
Thanks in advance!

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Wireless Networking (Router-APs topology)

Mon Jan 24, 2022 6:12 pm

Yes, since you are a new person,,, some reading is in order.
To handle your requests the easy way is to use vlans to separate the different LANs from each other (at layer2).
Then we ensure using ip firewall rules that the vlans cannot talk to each other.
(dont use capsman either, its not required and adds complexity and overhead that is not of any value to you at the moment)

This reference has the link for vlans, how to configure the MT device as an AP/switch which supports/compliments the link for vlans, changing the default firewall rules to something that is still very simple but cleaner and better, and finally how to safely configure the MT router OFF bridge ( the default comes with a bridge setup).

So in order, recommend reading and executing the following steps............
1. (a) Configure Off Bridge first for the router.......
(b) Consider configure AP OFF bridge as well, using a vWLAN Secure 5ghz1-WLAN1, Guest 5Ghz WLAN2, IOT-vWLAN (parent-WLAN2), OFF BRIDGE - OFF-vWLAN (parent WLAN1)
2. Then modify firewall rules