Community discussions

MikroTik App

loca995
Topic Author

RouterOS 7 - Wireguard site-to-site over multiple wans

Mon Feb 14, 2022 10:04 am

Good morning everyone,
I tried to setup a lab environment with 2 virtual CHR in order to simulate a BO to HQ scenario and testing the wireguard feature.
I am new to wireguard so I don't have any knowlegde about this topic.

I have two Wans on BO and two Wans on HQ.
I created the first wireguard tunnel over the first wan for each site and everything works correctly.

When I tried to setup the second wireguard peer, Mikrotik didn't allow me.
The error was something like "the peer already exists". I guess it's because the peer public key it's the same as the first peer.

If I want to have active redundancy between to sites, is it possible with Wireguard?
I mean, I want to manage my routes based on wan capabilities.
I usually performed it with a GRE over IPSEC scenario.

Any idea?

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: RouterOS 7 - Wireguard site-to-site over multiple wans

Mon Feb 14, 2022 12:33 pm

There seems to be a dispute in progress in Riga currently whether to permit the same remote public key for peers under different Wireguard interfaces on the same machine.

So for the time being, use different keys for each wireguard "link". Forever, use different Wireguard interfaces (one per each WAN) and the same approach you used with GRE over IPsec.

You could also make use of Wireguard's multi-homing and address-tracking capability in terms that you'd use a single Wireguard interface and peer at each site, and use a failover between WANs to let the Wireguard transport packets use the WAN that is currently alive, but it is probably not what you want. Plus, unless all four WANs have public addresses, it may have difficulties to work.

For an improved redundancy, use a pair of routers at each site, OSPF, and VRRP.

mozerd
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Mon Feb 14, 2022 5:19 pm