Community discussions

MikroTik App

mky
just joined
Topic Author

mAP lite: Not able to configure very simple use case LAN to WLAN bridge; neither does manual describe such a basic thing

Thu Feb 17, 2022 3:55 pm

I have just purchased an mAP lite, for its small size. I am a computer engineer myself, with quite some experience in network configuration, but after more than 2 hours of trying, I really don’t manage to configure this device to my needs.

I have a WLAN connected to the internet. I want the mAP to be connected to this WLAN and provide access to it via its Ethernet connector. The goal is to connect any device to the mAP Ethernet and get connected to the internet via WLAN.

PTP bridge seemed the wrong configuration, as I don’t want two mAP connected to each other, I just want one mAP connected to my WLAN. So I figured out I need CPE in bridge mode. But how can I at the same time [Connect] to my WLAN and apply CPE settings (DHCP and the like)? I can do either or, but once having done one thing, I loose connection to the mAP and am no longer able to connect to it!

Looking for a working sequence to achieve my intended setup with a laptop, without WinBox installed. Note that the mAP lite just has a single LAN connector, so it is not possible to use one LAN as config port and another LAN as bridge port.

fatmanforprez
just joined

Re: mAP lite: Not able to configure very simple use case LAN to WLAN bridge; neither does manual describe such a basic t

Sat Feb 19, 2022 8:48 am

What a coincidence, I discovered this thread while toying around with my new map, posting this from behind this very config.
/ip/address/add interface=bridge address=<static on WLAN network>
/ip/dhcp-server/remove defconf
/interface/wireless/security-profiles/add name=<yourssid> mode=dynamic-keys wpa2-pre-shared-key=<your wpa2 key>
/interface/wireless/set wlan1 ssid=<yourssid> security-profile=<yourssid> country="united states" mode=station-pseudobridge