Community discussions

MikroTik App

emericjdp
just joined
Topic Author

LR8 LoRaWAN Transmission problem

Fri Feb 18, 2022 12:34 pm

Hello everyone,

I am experiencing a weird problem in my setup with my LR8 Gateway connected to The Things Network with multiple devices.
I am not a LoRaWAN expert and I might have missed something that's why I am posting it now after a few weeks experiencing this problem.
My devices are performing Link Check request every 3 minutes (very frequent for test purpose) and I can manually force a LCR to test while having my problem.

What I can see :
- from time to time during a time span of less than 2 minutes no devices can receive a message from the gateway
- gateway keeps receiving messages
- gateway log shows it's receiving and transmiting messages correctly
- no log errors
- in debug mode in my embedded code it shows no answer from the gateway
- using USB LoraWAN module it shows no answer from the gateway

Here is the description of my system and the logs I'm showing afterwards.

Device behaviour: PING/LCR every 3 min – User can perform a forced LCR (less than 3 minutes between 2 pings).
If no answer received -> new ping without waiting (less than 10 s after the failed ping).
If no answer after this new ping / LCR -> ping every 30 seconds.
If answer received : ping every 3 minutes.

Gateway log (Mikrotik LR8) – Device 26 0B 70 7D:
10h04:58 RX Uplink LCR
10h05:02 TX Downlink LCR Answer - Gateway says it answered to the device but device never received it).
10h05:04 RX Uplink LCR - Less than 10 s after the last one. Meaning the last LCR failed.
10h05:09 TX Downlink LCR Answer - Gateway says it answered to the device but device never received it).
… LCR every 30 s until…
10h06:35 RX Uplink LCR
10h06:39 TX Downlink LCR Answer - Device received it because next ping is in 3 minutes

Multiple devices having the same problem at the same time:
- 2 embedded MM002-EU LoRaWAN modules on devices. (26 0B 70 7D and 26 0B 4F 39)