Community discussions

MikroTik App

JimKusz
just joined
Topic Author

Upgrade wAP to 5G LTE

Sat Apr 23, 2022 7:07 pm

Hello all:

I have a customer who's only source of internet is a single T1 (1.544Mbps @ $600/mo!) or LTE. We tried a wAP with the LTE6 card in it, and it does come up and work, but yeilds only 12 x 3Mbps speed. The same SIM in an iPhone at the same location speedtests at 60x23Mbps! The only difference is it runs at 5G, and the customer needs at least 10Mbps up for a video feed (it is an auction house).

So, from this I set out to buy an updated LTE card that supports 5G....Unfortunately, I'm running into a lot of issues finding something, and I'm relatively new to LTE cards, so I'm not sure about compatibility. Its clear that Microtik doesn't have a compatible 5G LTE card yet.

I gather that I'm going to have to buy a M.2 card and a mPCIe to M.2 adapter. Question is does anyone have any specifics on cards that are (or are definitely not) compatible with ROS?
For example, looking at a Quectel RM500Q-AE or RM502Q-AE as an option...

My googling on the topic of compatibility has been mixed, so I'm looking for some guidance here...For example, Lots of notes on USB2 vs USB3 pins connected, SIM pins connected, which slots on which boards can handle it, etc... The only data I found on the wAP AC LTE6 kit that I have is that only USB pins are connected to the mPCIe...But that doesn't tell me if they are USB2 or 3. Obvously the SIM pins are connected, too...

Does anyone have any suggestions of specific adapter boards? Most seem to have onboard SIM slots, which I would assume would mean the mPCIe pins are not connected, and thus the wAP sim slot is not usable...

Thank you for your input!

JimKusz
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Upgrade wAP to 5G LTE

Sat Apr 23, 2022 11:53 pm

I've done a bunch more reading, but one question I still haven't been able to answer: