Community discussions

MikroTik App

d2301
just joined
Topic Author

New to Router OS / Trying to setup 3 Vlans on 3011-uias-rm

Sun Apr 24, 2022 3:59 am

Hey everyone,

Total newb here. I have been reviewing the wiki, broadening my understanding of Vlans, and have reviewed several youtube videos. I'll be short and simple, so let me know if I am being unclear; english is not my first language.

Use case: Trying to create 3 Vlans: 1 for servers, 1 for workstations, 1 for management. I will be trunking each to a switch (which is a separate matter, I am just trying to get this working).

Use Winbox - Enter into bridges, create 3 bridges: vlanserver, vlanworkstation, vlanmanagement. Associate ethernet 5 with server, ethernet 6 to workstation, ethernet 9 to management. Trunk each to ether 2 (which will connect to switch). Go to each individual bridge and select untagged 5 (for vlanserver), untagged 6 (for vlanworkstation), and untagged 9 (for vlanmanagement), and tagged for ether 2 (for each). One thing I noticed is that there is a bridge already created from the beginning, so I went into the menu for ports and removed that bridge for ports 5, 6, and 9, and replaced each with the respective vlan it is associated with (vlanserver to port 5, vlanworkstation to port 6, vlanmanagement to port 9).

Go to DHCP, DHCP server - use 10.10.10.1 for vlanserver, 10.10.20.1 for vlanworkstation, 10.10.30.1 for vlanmanagement.

Go to IP Address, create record for each vlanserver.

It doesn't seem to work? Everytime I plug in my ethernet cable to either port 5, 6, or 9 I do not receive ip address.

Separate question. I believe I have to go to the quickmenu to change the ip address to 10.10.30.1 if I am to use ether 9 /vlanmanagement to access the router, correct?

Thanks for the help.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: New to Router OS / Trying to setup 3 Vlans on 3011-uias-rm

Sun Apr 24, 2022 4:51 am

One bridge, ( no dhcp or subnets assigned to bridge )