MikroTik App

rules
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Securing a small network

Sat May 07, 2022 1:12 pm

Hi All

I'm slowly but surely starting to button things up on our office network (at very least I can say I tried as I am no professional πŸ˜…). My original plan was purely based on controlling MAC addresses (set DHCP to static only and no reply on ARP) but I have since become aware that apart from the issue with today's phones which use random MACs, it is also becoming increasingly easy to spoof MAC addresses so it simply doesn't seem viable any longer.

So the short question (which I'm sure is going to have a long answer) is, what is the best way to secure one's network (keeping in mind this is for an SME, not an international conglomerate). Our current layout is quite basic, we have a few wired devices, Desktops/printers and 2 x APs (Unifi) for mobiles and laptops, which all connect to a hEX, which we use for internet access and DHCP etc.

If you don't mind nudging me in the right direction, it would be much appreciated πŸ˜‰

Thanks,
R

tangent
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Securing a small network

Sat May 07, 2022 1:57 pm

It is also becoming increasingly easy to spoof MAC addresses

I'll quibble with "increasingly:" it's been as easy as it's ever going to get for a decade or so. You can literally go into your Windows networking control panel and put in anything you like.

MAC address based security has been amateur-hour since the time the MAC was no longer burned into a PROM chip on the network card, and it wasn't awesome even then.

We're at peak pointlessness. :)

what is the best way to secure one's network

I would've said "use dot1x" until this exchange. Until they fix the problem where only one host needs to authenticate on a given port to open it wide, it's nearly as worthless as MAC address filtering. It's like one of those metal detector arches: it only works if you force all traffic through that choke point.