Community discussions

MikroTik App

nonosch68
just joined
Topic Author

Chateau Lte passthrough and bridge on other ports

Thu May 26, 2022 1:31 am

Hello,

first excuse me if my english is not correct.
I'm a beginner under RouterOs.

I have a Chateau LTE Router and ccr2004-16g2s+pc
The CCR2004 is connect to my fiber isp modem (which is in bridge mode) and has a dhcp client for the wan connection (sfp1). The subnet for the lan is 192.168.6.0. Firewall is on.

I want to use the Chateau in case of the fiber connection is down but don't want to use a failover dual wan method. The Chateau will be plug in the wan connector sfp1 of the ccr2004 if i need it.

My questions are :
On the Chateau :

- the Lte interface will be in passthrough mode with port ethernet 1 and plug to sfp1 (wan) of the ccr2204 : is there a need or firewall rules on the Chateau or the firewall of the ccr2004 is enough ?

- to ease the management i wish to create a brigde (port eth 2 -3-4 -5) and make it work like a switch on the Chateau with the same subnet of the ccr2004 (192.168.6.0).
the idea is to have just to plug a cable in port 2 or 3 and connect it to the lan of the ccr2004 to manage the Lte router
- is there something to do for security like firewall rules in this configuration or is this safe to do this ?

Hope i was clear enough
thanks for your time

SiB
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Chateau Lte passthrough and bridge on other ports

Sat May 28, 2022 12:28 am

nonosch68 write:
The Chateau will be plug in the wan connector sfp1 of the ccr2004 if i need it.
Cheateau not have sfp.. but 1GbE. You probably say to connect it to one of ethernet ports of CCR as second WAN.
From CCR perspective.. SFP+ is WAN1, one of Ethernet is WAN2 from Chateau, other ports are LAN.

the Lte interface will be in passthrough mode with port ethernet 1 and plug to sfp1 (wan) of the ccr2204