Community discussions

MikroTik App

innidael
just joined
Topic Author

MT setup with Ubiquiti Unifi 6 Pro help requested

Sat May 28, 2022 11:35 am

Hi everyone,

I am in the process of kitting out my new house and wanted to take my network up a notch. As I have some previous good experiences with Mikrotik, I purchased an RB5009 to be used as the main router, and a CRS326 to be used as the main switch for the wired connections. For wireless I will be using Ubiqiti Unifi 6 Pro access points, only because I could not find a source for Mikrotik APs.

My main goals are to learn more on networking and configuration of Mikrotiks and at the same time improve the network access for my family, and to boot, improve the security of the whole setup. Please understand that my networking experience is limited to home use.

For the first step I wanted to divide the network into VLANs; Base, Home, IoT, Guest (and when all things are working later on add a Lab). I would also like to run a PiHole as DNS. I had this running on my network in my old house, and was always very happy with it.

I have been trying to configure them both, and after some teething problems, have got it to a decent working state. Largely because of the excellent article from @pcunite, viewtopic.php?f=13&t=143620. I used most of the configuration mentioned in this article as a base and moved from there to adopt it to my situation.

The RB5009 is handling the DHCP for each VLAN, and is connecting to the CRS326 through ether3. The devices connected to the CRS326 are receiving the IP addresses in the range of the DHCP pool assigned for the correct VLANs. Internet access is working properly. I know the firewall setup needs to be improved, and I still have to add PiHole, nas and network printer. I am focused atm to make the ubiqiti Unfi6 AP work with the setup.