Community discussions

MikroTik App

apitsos
Topic Author

BGP on a CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+

Wed Jun 01, 2022 1:18 pm

Hi all!

I would like to ask here, because I have no experience from BGP at all. We are having a MikroTik CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+ in a datacenter and we want to advertise a /24 IPv4 block and a /29 IPv6 block via our own router and our own ASN.

The datacenter will announce our end a full BGP table and they advised us to make sure that our router can handle it.

I have two major questions:
1. First of all if the router we have is able to handle this. I have heard that the BGP is hungry for CPU. Can you advise me on this issue? Do you think I need a better router or can I do my job with it? And if so, which one do you recommend?
2. What do I need to do this configuration. Since I have no experience with BGP, do you know where I could find a tutorial or a good guide to learn how to set up this service on MikroTik?

Thank you very much in advance for your time and your valuable help.

With kind regards,
Angelos Pitsos

UplinkLLC
just joined

Re: BGP on a CCR1009-7G-1C-1S+

Sat Jun 04, 2022 11:49 pm

Hello Angelos,

1. First of all if the router we have is able to handle this. I have heard that the BGP is hungry for CPU. Can you advise me on this issue? Do you think I need a better router or can I do my job with it? And if so, which one do you recommend?

I believe that the CCR-1009 could handle it, but it will be slower than a more powerful router. A CCR-2004 running V7 RouterOS for example would crunch the full BGP table faster. Also, unless there is some compelling reason that you need the full BGP routing table, why not tell the data center to send only the default route instead of the full BGP routing table. This is what we did.

2. What do I need to do this configuration. Since I have no experience with BGP, do you know where I could find a tutorial or a good guide to learn how to set up this service on MikroTik?