Community discussions

MikroTik App

hyp3R
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Which MTU size should I set on my interfaces?

Thu Jun 02, 2022 10:58 pm

Hey guys. I recently bought two new MT routers. My main router is directly connected to the ISP fiber modem and it's "authenticated" using PPPoE. I've noticed that some websites were not opening at all, and then I stumbled upon viewtopic.php?t=150377 which helped me temporary solve the issue, by adding:
/ip firewall mangle
add action=change-mss chain=forward new-mss=clamp-to-pmtu passthrough=yes \
    protocol=tcp tcp-flags=syn
Whatsoever, because of my professional deformation, aka, I'm a software engineer, I hate just copy/pasting things and not knowing what I did, why things work, etc.

I've noticed that my PPPoE interface has an actual MTU of 1472. I suspect that this number was automatically set somehow by the actual PPPoE connection. Now, I'm wondering, am I suppose to change the MTU on all other interfaces, e.g. LAN, WAN, etc?

In simple words, how do I debug this, are there some rules about setting MTU manually and how do I go about this.

The main router I'm using is: https://mikrotik.com/product/RB3011UiAS-RM. I use this for my remote office and generally to plug in my servers, machines, etc over ethernet.

In one of the ethernet ports, I have this fellow https://mikrotik.com/product/RB2011UiAS-2HnD also in the Router (not bridge) mode, used for home related stuff.

Here is the screenshot of my interfaces, in case it can shed light on anything.
Screenshot 2022-06-02 at 22.03.06.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

msatter
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Which MTU size should I set on my interfaces?

Thu Jun 02, 2022 11:27 pm

You have only to "determne the MTU from packets that are returning:
/ip firewall mangle
add action=change-mss chain=forward in-interface="Telenor PPPoE" new-mss=clamp-to-pmtu passthrough=yes protocol=tcp tcp-flags=syn