Community discussions

MikroTik App

n4bz0r
just joined
Topic Author

Having trouble setting up WireGuard

Fri Jun 03, 2022 12:17 am

Hello!

The goal: set up a VPN tunnel and pass traffic to certain sites through it.

I've managed to do just that via ProtonVPN IPsec tunnel just a week ago. But, as of today, our government started to block connections to the popular VPN providers (HOO-RAH!). As a result, my IPsec tunnel doesn't work anymore.

WireGuard still seems to work, though. I've managed to establish connection to the server via the Windows client. So now I'm trying to set the thing up on my router.

I've kinda figured a few things out, but I'm still very new to WireGuard and RoS 7 routing (and routing in general) so I'm struggling to make sense of what I have to do in order for things to start working. On top of that, some of the issues might be due to my ISP's potential molestations of VPN connections.

Here are the pieces of the puzzle I've managed to put together:
/ip firewall
address-list add address=example.com list=PASS_THROUGH_VPN
mangle add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting dst-address-list=PASS_THROUGH_VPN new-routing-mark=through-vpn passthrough=yes

# WireGuard-related settings were taken from the ProtonVPN connection config
/interface wireguard 
add listen-port=13231 mtu=1420 name=proton-vpn private-key=omitted
peers add allowed-address=0.0.0.0/0 endpoint-address=omitted endpoint-port=51820 interface=proton-vpn persistent-keepalive=25s public-key=omitted

/routing 
table add disabled=no fib name=through-vpn
rule add action=lookup-only-in-table routing-mark=through-vpn table=through-vpn disabled=no

/ip 
address add address=10.2.0.2/24 interface=proton-vpn network=10.2.0.0 # The address is taken from the connection config
route add dst-address=10.2.0.0/24 gateway=proton-vpn routing-table=through-vpn
route add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=proton-vpn routing-table=through-vpn