Community discussions

MikroTik App

rick19810
just joined
Topic Author

I'm Missing Something Simple - Pinging RB260GS Switches

Wed Jun 15, 2022 5:04 am

I'm new to managed switches, VLANs, and SFP fiber connections.
I am setting up a network separate from my home network.
The new network will use static IP addresses.
I have a Win11 PC that will be on both LANs. I've installed a second NIC in it, with the IP set to 198.168.50.1 and DHCP disabled.
I have 2 RB260GS switches (SwOS). "Address Acq" was set to "static" and IP addresses 198.162.50.102 and .104 assigned. All the other settings as far as I can tell are out-of-the box settings (no VLANs, no restrictions, etc).
When I connect each switch directly to the PC, I can log onto them.
I thought the next test was an easy one: A daisy-chain connection from the PC to the .102 switch to the .104 switch to make sure the switches pass data over Ethernet (a prelude to testing the SFP connection).
When I do this, the PC can't see the second switch.
I can ping and log onto the directly-connected switch, but I can't ping or log into the switch on the other side.
I have tested and swapped cables, so I'm 95% confident that's not the issue.
I'm convinced I'm missing something easy, but I should be able to ping stuff on the other side of the switch, including another switch, right?

rick19810
just joined
Topic Author

Re: I'm Missing Something Simple - Pinging RB260GS Switches

Wed Jun 15, 2022 2:42 pm

Well, I hate it when problems simply disappear.
I tried one more thing, which was to plug in another device into the first switch - just to see how a non-switch device would respond.
Not only did the added device respond, but then the second switch started to respond.
This make no sense to me, but since I can't replicate the problem for now, this issue seems moot.

k6ccc
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: I'm Missing Something Simple - Pinging RB260GS Switches

Fri Jun 17, 2022 2:10 am