Community discussions

MikroTik App

Lamerica
just joined
Topic Author

Mikrotik bandwidth access

Wed Jun 22, 2022 9:43 am

Hello,
I'm new to mikrotik and at work i have inherit at new job this equipment. We have a problem with bandwitdh to internet. In ETH1 we have the cable from ISP where he have a public static IP. In ETH8 we have connected the cable to a firewall and then to our internal network. I have tested the internet connection with the cable from ISP directly connected to a laptop and the speed is ok ( 900Mbps download and 300 Mbps upload ). Then i made a test from mikrotik ETH8 where he have setup a subnet /29 from ISP ; i setup a ip from that subnet to a laptop and make the test and the speed was ~25 Mbps . The ISP said that there is no problem with IPs speed and limitation on the subnet . I'e google it and see that there is no queues , and in firewall there is nothing suspect ( or i cannot see something wrong ).
Can you please help me ?

Lamerica
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Mikrotik bandwidth access

Wed Jun 22, 2022 1:58 pm

Hello,
I find the problem, is the mikrotik CPU, when we make a speedtest it rise up to 100%...

Lamerica
just joined
Topic Author

Thu Jun 23, 2022 9:09 am

Is it normal to comport like that ? The CPU goes up to 100% on a speedtest where the bandwidth is ~35 Mbps ? There must be no problem at this speed; it`s not 10Gbps and the router's CPU cannot handle that bandwitdh... There are some settings that i have to do? Thx

rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Thu Jun 23, 2022 10:45 am

Do you like your monologue?
You haven't even specified what you're talking about.
You can very well use from a hAP lite to the most powerful CCR, and who knows?
And what version of RouterOS are you using? 3.16 on a RB493G or 7.3.1 on a RB5009?

bpwl
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Thu Jun 23, 2022 12:00 pm

Then i made a test from mikrotik ETH8 where he have setup a subnet /29 from ISP
We unfortunately have to guess how you have configured this.