Community discussions

MikroTik App

H01001000
just joined
Topic Author

How to setup vrf to prevent bridges access each others IP

Mon Jun 27, 2022 12:11 pm

I want to set up my network where the ROS (core switch) has two subnet, where it forward inter VLAN traffic to my pfsense (firewall) and back to the switch, instead of direct of the bridge directly route between two bridges. The problem is I am quite new to ROS, and even if I set up one bridge to another vrf, it still forwards the traffic. Can someone teach me step by step how to do it?

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: How to setup vrf to prevent bridges access each others IP

Tue Jun 28, 2022 8:25 am

If we indeed talk about core switch, we should not mention subnets at all. So the easiest way would be that the Mikrotik device would not attach any IP configuration to the VLANs, and the pfSense would be the default gateway for the devices connected to those VLANs.

If the Mikrotik device should actually be a router providing internet connectivity to both subnets residing in the VLANs, and the pfSense should only handle traffic between the VLANs, it cannot be done using plain VRF because routings of individual VRFs are completely isolated from one another, so you cannot have a common internet uplink for both VRFs. So instead, you have to use "policy routing", where you use additional routing tables for just part of the traffic, something like

/ip route
add dst-address=sub.net.in.vlan2/mask routing-mark=via-pfSense gateway=pfSense.ip.in.vlan1
add dst-address=sub.net.in.vlan1/mask routing-mark=via-pfSense gateway=pfSense.ip.in.vlan2
/ip route rule
add interface=vlan1 dst-address=sub.net.in.vlan2 action=lookup-only-in-table table=via-pfSense
add interface=vlan2 dst-address=sub.net.in.vlan1 action=lookup-only-in-table table=via-pfSense

But the above may not match your actual topology as you haven't described it in sufficient detail. Also, the syntax is a RouterOS 6 one, for RouterOS 7, it is slightly different.