Community discussions

MikroTik App

jupiadrian
just joined
Topic Author

Increasing BGP cost in announced OSPF routes (ROS 7)

Thu Aug 11, 2022 5:37 pm

Hi!
I'm experimenting with a project where we need to connect our network to AWS using their service Direct Connect. We've been up and running with our configuration over a month, which works really good. I'm new to both BGP and OSPF, so I'm not that experienced yet.

The routing between AWS and the "on-premise" world are made by using BGP in a CCR1072 (sto-sk1-gw01) runing ROS 7. The received announced route from AWS is seen and it's possible to communicate between the router and AWS. In the same VLAN, several routers talks OSPF for the routing between each other which also receives the redistributed route from AWS.

In the upcoming future, I need to establish a backup connection to AWS from the same network. For that purpose, I have another CCR1072 (sto-sk1-gw02), which also has an established BGP connection. As both CCR1072 are talking OSPF, they both received each other's BGP route but its own announced route to AWS (the announced BGP route from AWS are identical).

As I will use VRRP between the CC1072, it's important that traffic to/from AWS is is coming from the virtual router being active by that moment. This also means that the redistributed BGP route in OSPF needs to be chosen based on which router that's online, in this case sto-sk1-gw01 (sto-sk1-gw02 as backup). I'm thinking about increasing the distance for the "backup" BGP route, which in my world would mean that the primary choice for all other routers would be to go to sto-sk1-gw01 first. When sto-sk1-gw01 dies and these routes are disappearing, they'll switch over to the higher, but active, BGP route on backup router sto-sk1-gw02.

Am I completely out of range, or could this be a solution? Thanks for any help!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

eduplant
Member Candidate
Member Candidate