Community discussions

MikroTik App

triumph013
just joined
Topic Author

Is MikroTik a good start for a complete noob?

Fri Aug 12, 2022 1:07 am

I am working on building up my home network. I was all set to press "buy" on a $2k Ubiquiti setup (home network and NVR) until the wife shot that down. The MikroTik Hex S is now in my crosshairs. I'm planning to pair this router with the Arris S33 modem, and a Ubiquiti UniFi6 AP. I need to separate the router and AP so that I can place the router and modem into a network closet, which will probably kill wifi coverage with my current all-in-one ISP provided unit.

Needs:
  • Support *most* of my 1.2 GB connection from my ISP (currently receiving 1.4 GB to the existing ISP provided modem)
  • Provide seamless internet to our connected devices so the wife doesn't complain
Nice to haves:
  • Separate VLANs for guest network, and an eventual homelab/web app network
  • POE for access point
  • Some way to access some web apps hosted on my Pi outside my home network
I am not a networking professional. I understand the basics, enough to get by, but not enough to really know what I'm doing. I'm willing to learn how to get what I need, but I won't learn enough to tinker with things outside of what I need if that makes sense.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Is MikroTik a good start for a complete noob?

Fri Aug 12, 2022 4:27 am

Not quite, the hexS doesnt have the throughput for your WAN side.
What you should get, if the budget can afford it is the RB5009 at $219.
The RB4011 (non wifi) is also good $219, but at the same price and older tech....... of the two it would be silly not to get the RB5009.

If the budget is tight, then consider the hapac2 as the best bang for the buck at $79 and still get the WAN throughput required.
The hapac3 is a bit better with newer processor and a bit more ram but is $109.

Throughputs Roughly
rb5009 - 3500Mbps Arm 64bit 1gig/1gig
rb4011 - 3700Mbps Arm 32bit 1gig/512mb