Community discussions

MikroTik App

ancetile
just joined
Topic Author

Obtain WAN from ISP Hotspot AND provide wireless AP to users with WAN access shared from the ISP Hotspot.

Sat Sep 03, 2022 1:32 pm

I'm trying to configure my RouterBoard to connect to my Hotspot as well as provide an wireless network to users inclyding Intenret access.

- I;ve set up the physical wlan as a station and have it connected to the hotspot.
- I've added a virtual wlan as an ap bridge, set the laster to the physical wlan.
- I've added a port forward for winbox access to the config

What I'm struggling with is sharing the internet connection from the physical wlan1 to the virtual wlan2 so users can connect, view network resources (including the webfig) and access the internet.

Any help welcome. I'm a bit of a noob to routing and this device, but generally IT savvy.

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Obtain WAN from ISP Hotspot AND provide wireless AP to users with WAN access shared from the ISP Hotspot.

Sat Sep 03, 2022 6:44 pm

Nothing really different from a basic "home CPE with DHCP uplink" setup, except the interfaces. The WAN (physical wireless interface) needs a DHCP client attached to it which you apparently have; the NAT part of the firewall must masquerade the traffic leaving through that interface and should block all incoming connections via that interface, maybe even connections to the router itself from the wireless clients. Then, attach an IP address from a private subnet to the wireless LAN (the virtual wireless interface in AP mode), create an ip pool in that subnet, an /ip dhcp-server network profile (specifying the own address of Mikrotik in that network as gateway and possibly also as DNS server - if so, you have to permit access to router's own UDP port 53 to the wireless client), attach an /ip dhcp-server to the interface, tell it to use the pool, and enable it.

ancetile
just joined
Topic Author