Community discussions

MikroTik App

terintamel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

OSPF - Can't get default route into another area

Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:22 pm

I am just getting into learning OSPF and have run into and issue.

Setup

Internet->R1-->R2-->R3

In the initial setup I have R1,R2,R3 in backbone area. R1 has static default route towards the internet. R1 has its instance set to distribute-default always-as-type-1. With all routers in the same area all routes distributed properly including the default route.

However if instead I have backbone as the network connecting R1->R2 and then Area 2 as the network connecting R2->R3 the default route on R1 is not added to the routing table of R3. It shows up in the LSA of R3 as a Type External with R1 as the originator.

How am I supposed to get the default route from R1 into the routing table of R3 when R1 and R3 are in separate areas?

terintamel
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Re: OSPF - Can't get default route into another area

Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:52 pm

Capture.PNG
Forgive the crude drawing. Here is what I am attempting to do.

R1 connects to R2 via fiber.
R1 connects to R3 via fiber
R2 connects to R3 via wireless

What I want is clients on R3 to get to the internet via R1 unless the R3->R1 link is down.
If the R1->R3 links is down I instead want them to go to R1 via R2 using the wireless link.
I want clients from R2 to get to the internet via R1 and only R1 regardless of the state of the link between R2 and R3.

I thought putting the link between R2 and R3 in a separate area that could be used to prevent traffic going from R2 through R3 to reach R1.

Honestly after thinking about it maybe OSPF is the wrong way to accomplish this? Maybe statics would be better?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Wed Oct 05, 2022 8:56 pm

Dumb question, is area1 or area 2 set as a backbone area?

terintamel