Community discussions

MikroTik App

msp01
just joined
Topic Author

home network setup help

Mon Oct 17, 2022 1:51 am

hello all

I'm a newbie into mikrotik world and decided to jump on the deep (very deep) end to establish a home network implementing VLANs to allow for network segregation for IOT devices, guests, etc.

Followed a mix and match of resources:
1) maybe the most useful: viewtopic.php?t=143620 -> Switch with a separate router example
2) an useful yet basic video on CAPsMAN: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=taQ70m0DVYA

Topology wise:
HEX S router running RouterOS 6.48.6 ->
port 1->WAN
port 2-sfp1 bridged connected to switch
CSS326 switch running SwitchOS 2.13 ->
port 1 -> trunk to router
port 2 -> desktop
port 3 -> server
port 23 -> CAP ac1
port 24 -> CAP ac2

Running 4 VLANs: 10-trusted, 20-untrusted, 30-guests, 99-mgmt
Ideally what I'm after is to isolate clients on VLANs 20 and 30 such that they can talk to the internet and nobody else.
VLAN 10 should be able to access clients on 10, 20, 30 VLANs.
I've done tests and I seem to be able to accomplish my goals (from .10 can ping .20, .30, from .20 cant ping anyone else, from .30 cant ping anyone else) but I'd love some review/inputs on my config so far.

Attaching my current routerOS config and screenshots from SwitchOS config.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Buckeye
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Re: home network setup help

Tue Oct 18, 2022 2:05 am

I don't see a question.

But I will ask you some.

Is there a reason you want to stay with v6 instead of upgrading to v7.4 or above on the hEX S? If you are new to ROS, I don't see any big advantage to staying with v6.48.6 (unless you know why you want to stay with v6.48.6, I would upgrade to at least v7.4, because you are using the vlan-filtering bridge, and it has gained hardware support in recent versions of V7).