Community discussions

MikroTik App

rebuilder86
just joined
Topic Author

Can a Tik be used to monitor SFP RX power and create alerts when rx pwr dies?

Wed Oct 26, 2022 4:09 pm

Vague title, because im not a network engineer, im a physical engineer,and im trying to make sure I dont make a fool of myself suggesting something impossible of our NOC team.

I am trying to come up with a bit of a hack process for my network engineering team to use mikrotik to monitor a whole bunch of different PON fibers that all end up at the same place, a mass dwelling unit / mass residential development..
Before you ask me why on earth I would want to do that, just tell me if the following is possible; yes or no, then read on if you want to understand why someone woudl want to do such a thing.
Products exist for this yes, but they are not MIKROTIK so were not interested hehe.
https://www.quantifiphotonics.com/produ ... wer-meter/

Can I stick a mikrotik SFP switch, at the end of a PON network behidn the splitters, just sitting there transmitting nothing, doing nothing except listening/receiving the downlink 1490nm on all fibers just to create an alert if any one of the fibers goes dark?
Effectivley, im trying to use a mikrtick SFP switch with a Duplex SFP, and just use the RX port of that to listen and give stats on the RX power. If theres a fiber break, the power will just die, so I wonder if somehow that could be monitored by a script or something and trigger warnings just like those that warn our NOC when an active ethernet port goes down (unreachabel) . Only difference is here we want it not to look at network, but to jsut monitor the RX power and thats all. It'd be a good use of our old dirty worn out stock of CRS106s or CRS212s.

I would use something like these as the receivers, with sensitivity all the way down to -34dbm, cheap, stupid, dumb, slow 100mbps, perfect for monitoring purposes.
https://www.fs.com/sg/products/64229.html