Community discussions

MikroTik App

minigatts
just joined
Topic Author

Advice for using hEX lite to access multiple subnets from one PC

Tue Nov 01, 2022 5:28 pm

Hi All,

I've been messing with a problem for a couple of days, and have been through the forums here as well as the wiki looking for examples for how to do what I am trying to do - but I am kind of stuck, and am hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I'm VERY new to networking, until this probably the most complicated thing I'd ever had to do was change my IP4 address on my ethernet adapter in windows to match a device so I could read from it. Apologies in advance if I misuse any terminology here.

I'm not sure how much detail is needed, but here are the basics of my 'problem'.

I have three different types of field data acquisition systems (DAS), and each type has an IP address in a specific range and I want to be able to communicate with all of them from a laptop with a single ethernet port.
Network Diagram.jpg
So, on a given job I might have three data acquisition systems streaming simultaneously, but only one of each type - never multiples.
DAS 1 : 192.168.8.10
DAS 2 : 10.1.10.15
DAS 3 : 192.168.5.103

I've been trying to follow the examples from this highly recommended thread...
viewtopic.php?t=143620

But so far haven't been able to get anything to work.

I've also looked at this section of the Wiki and tried to follow the examples there.
https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... +switching

Likewise, no luck. I haven't been able to successfully 'ping' any of the data source devices on ether3, 4, or 5.

Am I on the right track here thinking this needs to be set up as a VLAN? Or am I barking up the wrong tree. Really just looking for someone to point me in the right direction here.

Thanks in advance!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

minigatts
just joined
Topic Author