Community discussions

MikroTik App

RichardD
just joined
Topic Author

VRRP master/back preemption issue

Wed Nov 02, 2022 6:30 pm

Hi
I am running two routers (Cisco and Mikrotik) with VRRP on the LAN. MT is master with higher priority. I am doing a connection tracking to verify that MT has upstream through the WAN. If upstream fails switchover to Cisco is done as it should be because of connection tracking. If connection tracking target is available again I want to have MT as master again but connection tracking and preemption is not allowed to configure side by side. Any idea how to overcome this?
Thx
Richard

RichardD
just joined
Topic Author

Re: VRRP master/back preemption issue

Wed Nov 02, 2022 8:54 pm

I think I have a general understanding issue with this connection tracking. I am pretty new to MT and thought it is like Cisco does tracking with e.g. ip sla or interface states. As I have read now connection tracking is somehow exchanging state information between vrrp master and slave but for this both routers have to be MT with same OS version.
I am running mixxed environment; Cisco and MT. If MT is the vrrp master on the LAN I need some functionality where MT checks if upstream is available on WAN (e.g. interface state or icmp reachability of an address). If this test is failing vrrp priority shall be decreased to become vrrp slave. If upstream is available again priority shall be again as usual.
Any idea how to achieve this?
Thanks
Richard

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Thu Nov 03, 2022 9:50 am

First, there is a vernacular issue. "connection tracking" in the Linux and Mikrotik environment is a key part of stateful firewall implementation, allowing to identify packets belonging to previously seen TCP sessions, bi-directional UDP flows and alike. Your use of that term suggests that you have in mind monitoring of uplink availability (reachability of the external network via that uplink).