Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
ce13
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2022 8:17 pm

RB4011 vlan bridge

Sat Nov 05, 2022 8:34 pm

Hello, I have an RB4011 with running the ethernet ports in bridge mode, and one of the ports (eth5) is connected with my UnRaid server. I have setup vlan interface vlan22 on RB4011 and there are two interfaces (br0 and br0.22) in my UnRaid server, the issue is my UnRaid server is able to get IP on br0 but failed on br0.22. I have tried to capture the traffic on RB4011 and able to see my UnRaid server is sending DHCP traffic but no response from my RB4011. I believe there is something wrong on my bridge vlan configuration.

/ Interfaces
Name: Vlan22, VLAN ID: 22, Interface: Bridge1

/ Bridge
Name: Bridge1, Vlan Filtering: Yes, PVID: 1

/Bridge Ports
Interface eth5, Bridge: Bridge1, PVID: 1, Frame Types: admin all

/Bridge VLANs
(Default) Bridge: Bridge1, VLAN IDs: 1, current Untagged: Bridge1, eth3, eth4, eth5, eth7, eth8
Bridge: Bridge1, VLAN IDs: 22, Tagged: Bridge1, eth5
 
erlinden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1900
Joined: Wed Jun 12, 2013 1:59 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: RB4011 vlan bridge

Sun Nov 06, 2022 11:08 am

Something like this:
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=[fill in a MAC address of one of the ether ports] auto-mac=no ingress-filtering=no name=Bridge1 protocol-mode=none vlan-filtering=yes

/interface vlan
add interface=Bridge1 name=Vlan22 vlan-id=22

/interface bridge port
add bridge=Bridge1 frame-types=admit-only-untagged-and-priority-tagged interface=eth5 pvid=22

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 tagged=Bridge1 Untagged: eth5 vlan-ids=22

If you start using VLAN's, don't "use" VLAN 1 (as it is there already).
And also read this topic carefully: viewtopic.php?t=143620
 
ce13
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2022 8:17 pm

Re: RB4011 vlan bridge

Sun Nov 06, 2022 1:03 pm

Thanks. I tried to follow your configuration but my UnRaid server br0 will lose the connection after applying it. Looked at the link and it seems I need to set hybrid port on eth5.

My bridge interface is using 192.168.10.0/24 (Default pvid 1 after enabling vlan filtering)
VLAN22 - 192.168.22.0/24

My UnRaid server is:
Br0 (normal ethernet interface): DHCP
BR0.22 (vlan interface): DHCP

My current configuration:
/interface bridge
add admin-mac=[MAC address] auto-mac=no ingress-filtering=no name=Bridge1 vlan-filtering=yes

/interface vlan
add interface=Bridge1 name="vlan22" vlan-id=22

/interface bridge port
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth2"
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth3"
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth4"
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth5 - UnRaid"
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth6" pvid=22
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth7"
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=defconf ingress-filtering=no interface="eth8"

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=vlan22 tagged="Bridge1,eth5 - UnRaid" vlan-ids=22

/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=Bridge1 interface=Bridge1 lease-time=30m name=Bridge1 
add address-pool=vlan22 interface="vlan22" lease-time=30m name=vlan22

/ip pool
add name=Bridge1 ranges=192.168.10.50-192.168.10.70
add name=vlan22 ranges=192.168.22.50-192.168.22.70

/ip address
add address=192.168.10.1/24 interface=Bridge1 network=192.168.10.0
add address=192.168.22.1/24 interface=vlan22 network=192.168.22.0
 
User avatar
anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 18958
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2018 11:28 pm
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Contact:

Re: RB4011 vlan bridge

Mon Nov 07, 2022 3:05 am

If you are interested in using all vlans for data (and not vlan1) I am interested in helping.............. in other words, bridge does no DHCP...........
 
User avatar
Buckeye
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 883
Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2018 2:03 am
Location: Ohio, USA

Re: RB4011 vlan bridge

Mon Nov 07, 2022 12:16 pm

Thanks. I tried to follow your configuration but my UnRaid server br0 will lose the connection after applying it. Looked at the link and it seems I need to set hybrid port on eth5.
old

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=vlan22 tagged="Bridge1,eth5 - UnRaid" vlan-ids=22

replace with

/interface bridge vlan
add bridge=Bridge1 comment=vlan22 tagged=Bridge1,"eth5 - UnRaid" vlan-ids=22

The difference is the placement of the double quotes. You don't need Bridge1 quoted (although it can be) but the "eth5 - Unraid" has to be quoted because it has spaces in the name. The comma separating interfaces should not be inside the quotes.

Please posts output of /interface bridge vlan print and /interface bridge vlan print detail both before and after the change.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BinaryTB, GoogleOther [Bot], rplant and 69 guests