Community discussions

MikroTik App

rz1
just joined
Topic Author

Setting up newly bought Mikrotik Router

Mon Nov 14, 2022 8:03 am

Hello everyone,
I just bought a hAP ac3 and I plan to use and switch the router I'm currently using. And it's my first time dealing with this kind of router.

Here's the setup that I have for now,
  1. Internet modem
  2. hAP ac3
  3. Switch
I used winbox. I did a reset on the router, no default configuration.
At first, I used quick set to set everything. Added IP, Gateway, DNS etc. Double checked everything and after that, I didn't get an internet connection so I did a reset on the router again.
I manually configured the router without using quick set. Bridge then adding ports, addresses for ether1 (wan), bridge (local ip), DNS, dhcp server (no dns added there), gateway, NAT. And got a problem with the DHCP Client. ether1 is stuck on searching. If I use quick set, dhcp client gets disabled.

I followed the documentation, and some youtube videos on how to set this thing up. But it doesn't work for me. I might be doing it wrong.
I'm here for some help and I'm quite disappointed in myself that I can't even fix the problem or what's causing it.

Thanks everyone.

erlinden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Setting up newly bought Mikrotik Router

Mon Nov 14, 2022 10:28 am

Hereby my tips:
  • Don't use Quickset
  • Use default configuration
  • When posting a topic, supply as much relevant information as possible
Can you please start with default configuration and check if it works?
If you attach a computer on the networkcable that is connected to the WAN port of the MT, do you get an IP address?

rz1
just joined
Topic Author

Mon Nov 14, 2022 11:09 am

Can you please start with default configuration and check if it works?
If you attach a computer on the networkcable that is connected to the WAN port of the MT, do you get an IP address?

Sorry about that and I'm new to the forum. But I will try to provide any information needed.