Community discussions

MikroTik App

eazysnatch
just joined
Topic Author

House wifi6 network with Mikrotik AX or Audience

Thu Nov 24, 2022 12:28 pm

Hey folks,

I've been using Mikrotik for more than ten years, and from my experience, I can say nothing can beat it at this price level. Of course, the downside is you need to learn the Mikrotik way, but as an old geek, I'm enjoying it.

So I'm reconstructing my house from scratch, which means I will design the entire wire and wifi network, including / servers/switches /routers/ups ...etc. I plan to use the new hAP ax2 and ax3 for my wifi. The good part is I will design the cables, and the plan is to connect everything over wires. The idea is to put a couple of Hap AX devices in CAPsMAN and create mesh networking. I want to be sure the entire house of 2 floors,, additional building one floor,, and the yard is covered. So I will start with 2 Hap AX and extent.

I was wondering if they will release Audience with Wifi6 but still nothing.

What you guys think:
- Audience/RB4011 using new wifiwave2
- You can move the devices around till you get best placement
- Hap AX2 / 3 - with WIFI6 support
- Mount on the sealing without any chance of movement but i will test them before

I know there is a little buzz over WIfi6 and stable 5GHz is totally enough but back in days I choose the Hap AC move to 5GHz and 5 years later still don't need a cable in my house, so I invest in the feature. I work form home a lot, so network must be stable.

BrateloSlava
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: House wifi6 network with Mikrotik AX or Audience

Fri Nov 25, 2022 10:45 am

If you have such an opportunity to create everything from scratch, I recommend abandoning the idea of ​​using a router with built-in wifi. And use only wireless access points. And put the rest of the network equipment somewhere in a separate place. And, if possible, use another manufacturer as a supplier of equipment for wifi.