Community discussions

MikroTik App

benoitc
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

looking for ideas to power the RB5009UPr+S+IN in a company setup

Wed Nov 30, 2022 12:47 pm

I'm not a pro in that domain. I am wondering what would be the best way to power in the office the RB5009UPr+S+IN so it can resist to power outage and go on the battery if it crashes. Any idea is welcome.

So the main connection right now is handled by a CCR22004 dual BGP homed that is plugged to two UPS (APC). This bring the connection to a CRS317 wich connect our local data pop (4 servers). One port of the CCR2004 is plugged to a unifi UXG which is interfaced to a unifi switch powering unifi APs. Beside that there is an OOB switch (CRS326) wh has its own connection. Power redundancy to the unifidevices is provided by a unifi RPS

What I'm thinking to do is replacing the unifi part by 2 RB5009UPr+S+IN , 1 acting as a backup. The RB5009UPr+S+IN would power the APS (i only have 3) and provide routing. i ill use 2 others one to pprovide some test setup and improve OOB. so for in a line. but my question is how to plug the rb5009 so they get redudant power? Ideally it would be plugged to the 2 UPS. But I can also manage to get an external battery (or 2) id needed Also is there any solution that doesn't require to use that large power boxes like a multi-dc outlet box or something?
Any idea is more than welcome :-)

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: looking for ideas to power the RB5009UPr+S+IN in a company setup

Wed Nov 30, 2022 9:52 pm

RB5009UPr+S+IN can be powered by 3 different ways: DC barell jack, 2-pin terminall and PoE-in. However it seems that if PoE-in is active power source, PoE-out is disabled. To me this is kind of expected, PoE-in is quite limited as per standard and power class (up to 30W) and is thus very questionable if device could power all power clients with that limited power budget.