MikroTik App

vizi0n
just joined
Topic Author

Unable to get VLANs working on CRS305 with RouterOS 7.6

Thu Dec 08, 2022 2:48 am

mikrotik crs305 config.rsc
Hello Mikrotikers,

First time user here. I'm used to Cisco and Juniper stuff, but I have never used a Mikrotik device before. I'm kind of lost in the VLAN configuration of the box.

I would like to use it as an aggregation switch for different devices within my home but I can't get the VLAN trunks and access ports to work correctly.

I've read some docs online, watched Youtube videos, but it seems like some stuff doesnt work because everytime I hook up my trunk cables I completely lose access, and nothing works (the data doesn't pass through the switch, and management doesnt work anymore either). I have a Cisco switch on SFP3 and another one on SFP4, and routers on SFP1 and SFP2

Topology:

VLAN 1 : ACCESS on ETH0 and SFP1 // TRUNK on ports SFP3 and SFP4 (Management + my own computers)
VLAN 402-406 : TRUNK on SFP2, SFP3 and SFP4 (Segregated access to different people/devices in the house)
VLAN 407-4094 : TRUNK on SFP3 and SFP4 (other VLANs for random work stuff and tests)

I have tried assigning the IP address to VLAN-1 but it doesn't ping from the switch. If I set the IP to port ETH0, then it can ping from terminal

I'm attaching my config file that I have so far. Any help would be appreciated !
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Unable to get VLANs working on CRS305 with RouterOS 7.6

Thu Dec 08, 2022 9:14 am

In general terms, @pcunite prepared a really good tutorial on how to do VLANs properly ... it includes example of switch configuration. Another good tutorial by @sindy explains different bridge personalities.