Community discussions

MikroTik App

imanbordbar
just joined
Topic Author

Two different internet connection on Ether1 and Ether2

Fri Jan 06, 2023 10:28 am

I have to say I'm not a pro in this field and I need help for solving this problem.
I have two internet connection connected to Ether1 and Ether2 ports of my Hap lite TC Router.
I have 2 questions:
1) Can I specify which device that connected to wlan use Ether1 or Ether2 as internet connection? For example my cellphone use Ether1 and my laptop use Ether2.
2) Can I specify a host name for using Ether1 and Ether2? I mean when a device that connected to wlan wants to access a website like mikrotik.com router choose Ether1 for internet connection and for the rest of websites use Ether2.
Thanks in advance

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Two different internet connection on Ether1 and Ether2

Sun Jan 08, 2023 8:56 pm

A well defined set of user requirements without any discussion of the configuration is best.

In your first statement WLAN has nothing to do with cellular.
Yes you can direct easily subnets and vlans out specific Internets
More work if you want to pre-ordain specific users.
Not easy to do on the fly for user - a quick and dirty way is to have available SSIDs per internet and thus person can choose that way, wired not so much.

sindy
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Two different internet connection on Ether1 and Ether2

Sun Jan 08, 2023 10:05 pm

1) Can I specify which device that connected to wlan use Ether1 or Ether2 as internet connection? For example my cellphone use Ether1 and my laptop use Ether2.