Community discussions

MikroTik App

elnino54
just joined
Topic Author

Can't seem to get my vlans to work

Wed Jan 11, 2023 2:45 pm

Hi all, I've got some experience with Microtik but this is the first time I have played with a Microtik switch (CRS326-24g-2S+).

It currently has routerOS on it and it is working fine as a generic router - I'm using it now to post this.

Where i'm struggling is with the VLANS. I have:
VLAN 1 - Main Network
VLAN 20 - IP Cameras
VLAN 99 - Guest Wifi

VLAN 20 was easy - I created a new bridge for just the cameras, untagged 20, added an IP, some firewall rules, DHCP etc. That works fine.

What I can't seem to configure the AP ports as trunks for VLAN 99.

Initially I had:
Bridge1 = Ports 2-20
Bridge1 vlans 99 Tagged 2-6 (where the AP can be plugged in)

Works fine for anything on vlan 1 over wifi but not vlan 99

I don't need a real port to be active (untagged) for this VLAN as it is only used by wifi which is tagged at the ap (Unifi) but obviously I need an IP bound to it. I created a vlan interface and assigned an IP to it. I'm just completely confused on how best to get this to work and the Microtik way of doing things is not yet logical to me.

Just now, I thought perhaps I create a new bridge just for the trunk ports, Untagged 1, tagged 99 etc but that does not seem to work either. My logic says it should because the VLANS match, despite being on a different 'bridge' since it's still just layer 2 but It's doing my head in!

Please can someone explain this to me. I thought this would be just like a normal switch that I can set tagged/untagged/allowed/excluded but i'm confused by having to create bridge interfaces etc.

mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Can't seem to get my vlans to work

Wed Jan 11, 2023 8:42 pm

It seems your concept is all wrong. You really should have single bridge ... see this nice tutorial, it covers quite a few typical use cases.