Community discussions

MikroTik App

gyoung
just joined
Topic Author

How to Whitelist IP

Wed Jan 18, 2023 3:55 pm

Hello,

I work for a security company installing CCTV and Audio. I'm having issues with SIP registration from the speaker to our PBX server. From what I gathered from the speaker manufacturer a Pcap determined the firewall is blocking the data. Unfortunately I'm not an network expert and the customer does not have a clue on how to whitelist an ip. I am familiar with port forwarding, is this a similar process?

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: How to Whitelist IP

Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:10 pm

What does that have to do with mikrotik??

jvanhambelgium
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:16 pm

Hello,

I work for a security company installing CCTV and Audio. I'm having issues with SIP registration from the speaker to our PBX server. From what I gathered from the speaker manufacturer a Pcap determined the firewall is blocking the data. Unfortunately I'm not an network expert and the customer does not have a clue on how to whitelist an ip. I am familiar with port forwarding, is this a similar process?
Kinda similar, in the sense that for a "port-forwarding" you can also APPLY a white-list. (basically "who is allowed to hit your port-forward")

The only action to take

1) Create a "access-list" and add all the IP's that will be allowed to communicate
2) Apply this list to the specific firewall-rule responsible for the communications (does not have to be a DNAT-rule, depends on the configuration of the Mikrotik)

But your question is rather generic, without more details or a simple schematic it will be difficult to provide more tips.

gyoung
just joined
Topic Author

Wed Jan 18, 2023 5:46 pm

What does that have to do with mikrotik??
Thats what the customer has so I was hoping someone would be familiar with setup and could guide me.

thanks,

jvanhambelgium
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

Wed Jan 18, 2023 6:17 pm