MikroTik App

thn80
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author

Completely confused about VLANs

Thu Feb 02, 2023 10:05 am

Hello,

I am new to MikroTik and currently starting with a hAP ac² (Atheros8327 switch chip).
What I want to do is creating some VLANs in RouterOS but I am absolutely lost with all the different ways of configuring them.

A lot of examples create one Bridge per VLAN. However, what I understood so far is, that this should be avoided on simple routers because they can only handle a single bridge via hardware offloading.

So the next way is to configure a single bridge and to connect all VLANs to this single bridge. For my current understanding this should run fine with activated "Hardware Offloading".
This seems also to be used in the example at https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... LANrouting where also my switch chip Atheros8327 is mentioned.

I also found the way about configuring VLANs in the "Switch" menu of RouterOS. One tutorial I have seen tells that this is an old way of configuring it and it shall not be used anymore. However, on https://help.mikrotik.com/docs/display/ ... switchchip exactly this is done.
Is MikroTik only going the "Switch menu" way in this example because only a Switch and not a Router shall be configured in the example?

As you can see, I am really confused.
  • Shall I configure the VLANs via the Switch menu in my hAP ac² or will using a single Bridge with hardware offloading activated reach the same performance on the hAP ac²?
  • What is the difference between using the Switch menu and using the configuration directly on a Bridge?
  • Is the Switch menu only a simplified configuration options for the case that only switching (without routing) is the use-case and for more complex scenarios (with routing) a bridge with HW-Offloading shall be used? But if so, what is the difference of using the Switch menu and binding this switch to the CPU port for additional routing capapbilty?