Community discussions

MikroTik App

Plugpulled
just joined
Topic Author

How to connect two Routers A & B where B gets internet access from A

Thu Feb 16, 2023 8:56 pm

Hi,

Apologies. I'm a newbie to RouterOS. I have RB4011(wifi model) which i bought during its launch. I configured it using quick setup and got it working with Wifi and also with DnsOverHttps(which i did manually). I recently purchased two Mikrotik hap ax3 which i need to setup as a mesh. But really as first step i want to connect hap ax3 to RB4011(which has internet via ether1).

RouterA -> RB4011 - will use for connecting some old devices or IOT devices.
RouterB -> first hap ax3. - will be my primary wifi AP for phone, laptop etc
RouterC -> second hap ax3 - will be my primary wifi AP for phone, laptop etc

Firstly, i would like RouterB to get internet access from RouterA. I have connected RouterB via ether1 to RouterA's ether10(PoE) port. I don't know where do i even begin for setup but currently there is no internet access when i connect wirelessly to RouterB.

Secondly, i would also want connect the RouterC to RouterB making it as a mesh. If that is even possible :D

Thanks

fragtion
Member Candidate
Member Candidate

Re: How to connect two Routers A & B where B gets internet access from A  [SOLVED]

Thu Feb 16, 2023 9:28 pm

You can link the devices by ensuring that they are on the same ethernet bridge

I would do this:

1. Disable DHCP on Router B and C.

2. Ensure for Router A, you have ether10 on the LAN BRIDGE.
With default configuration, ether10 will already be on the bridge with a RB4011.

3. Ensure for Router B and C, you have ether1 on the LAN BRIDGE.
With default configuration, ether1 is usually a WAN port. This is why your wireless isn't working when you connect to these routers that you tried to link to the other router via ether1.

You may need to edit the interface list, to remove ether1 from WAN and make it LAN.