Community discussions

MikroTik App

arrbee
just joined
Topic Author

unable to connect to running router

Mon Feb 20, 2023 4:45 pm

I'm very new to Mikrotik products. I know there will be much to learn and configure, but my 1st hurdle is gaining access to the router!!

I've a LHG-LTE18 providing a (mostly) default config back to a Unifi router then on to a couple of switches.
The only config that I changed on the LHG was the IP address and DHCP range and possibly the DNS server(s). ( didn't like the default .188 subnet so I changed it to .4)
At this time, the LHG is providing internet to the network

Public IP
[LHG] using a PoE injector
I
I
DHCP assigned .253
[Unifi router]
192.168.0.254/24
I
I
PoE switch (feeds WAPs)
I
I
main switch (+ patch panel)

When I did the config for the LHG I had it directly connected to patch port for my PC thus directly connecting PC and LHG.
I was able to get an IP from the LHG and connect either via web browser to default IP, or via MAC in winbox/neighbours
After I changed the IP I was still able to connect via MAC (can't remember about IP).
But, after moving the LHG patch cable to the routers WAN port. I could no longer connect.
To understand the issue more I tried:
- connecting the LHG into the same switch as the PC. (NOK)
- moving both PC and LHG to the other switch. (NOK)
- making sure I can ping the private IP of the LHG (192.168.4.1) (OK)
- directly connecting the LHG back to the PC patch port. (NOK)
- ssh/telnet to the LHG IP (NOK)

Considering the LHG is up a pole on the side of the house, having to reset the thing is a bit of a hassle but so far this is the only time I've had access.

What am I doing wrong?!?!?
I want to move on to making sure it's aimed correctly and locked to cells and bands with the best carrier aggregation etc etc, before I try and configure it in passthrough mode.
I can't make a start on any of that if I can't reliably connect!

Thanks in advance.
RB

arrbee
just joined
Topic Author