Community discussions

MikroTik App

loukleo
just joined
Topic Author

Public IP and VPN access on LHG-LTE18 - Solved

Fri Mar 03, 2023 9:09 am

Hello there, newbie here.

I have been using lately two lhg-lte6 (RBLHGR&R11e-LTE6) and recently purchased a new LHGGM&EG18-EA, LHG LTE18 kit to upgrade.

What I have been doing with success on LTE6 routers is that ISP provides me with a public IP after setting the right APN and by using the VPN address provided by mikrotik I can access remotely the router. Images below:
lhg lte6 - 3.png
lhg lte6 - 2.png
lhg lte6 - 1.png

The issues now with the newly purchased LTE18 router is:
1. I do not get a public IP, even with the same exact SIM card. To be more clear, I put the SIM card in LTE6 router, everything works like a charm, I take it off and put it in the LTE18 router my IP is 10.*.*.* Obviously I also set the correct APN. Is it something that has to do with the carrier or a configuration is needed?
2. LTE18 router does not provide me with a, let's say, "static" VPN address in the format *.sn.mynetname.net. What alternatives do I have?
Pictures here:
lhg lte18 - 1.png
lhg lte18 - 2.png
lhg lte18 - 3.png

Thank you in advance,
Loukas
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

loukleo
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Public IP and VPN access on LHG-LTE18 - Solved

Mon Mar 06, 2023 5:35 pm

I managed to address the issues I have been facing, so I am posting what I found for newbies like me that they are trying to figure things out.
1. I do not get a public IP, even with the same exact SIM card. To be more clear, I put the SIM card in LTE6 router, everything works like a charm, I take it off and put it in the LTE18 router my IP is 10.*.*.* Obviously I also set the correct APN. Is it something that has to do with the carrier or a configuration is needed?