Community discussions

MikroTik App

dazzaling69
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author

Fasttrack not working on RB5009

Wed Mar 15, 2023 2:48 pm

Hi. Fasttrack doesn't appear to be working (counter at zero on the firewall, dummy rule on zero bytes) on my RB5009 router. AFAIK, the Fasttrack Firewall rule is in the right place and is formed correctly, but no fasttrack.

Can anyone help? I'm sure it's a trivial mistake. Config attached (with a few entries deleted).

D.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: Fasttrack not working on RB5009

Wed Mar 15, 2023 3:30 pm

So far dont see why.......

(1) Set this to NONE as mac-server by itself is not a secure access method!
/tool mac-server
set allowed-interface-list=listBridge

(2) I am not a bond expert so the bridge ports look fine, was just wondering if the non-slave port needs to be the one on the bridge and not the bond, but its only a theory with .05% of having validity.

(3) I prefer to include all possibilities or leave blank........... I typically use firewall rules to narrow down to finite IPs, so your approach is fundamentally good, but you are removing your wireguard connection from being able to configure router by not including it ??
set winbox address=10.160.100.0/24

Otherwise this rule is useless..........
add action=accept chain=input comment="Allow Everything in Wireguard" \
in-interface=wireguard1

(4) As an exercise disable funky doh cloudflare stuff to see how that may or may not affect speed tests!

(5) Do local users access the plex server and if so is it strictly directy by LANIP address??

(6) Redundant rule............. Can you see why the first rule is NOT required.
(add action=drop chain=input comment="Block external DNS requests" dst-port=53 \
in-interface=WAN_Port log=yes log-prefix="External DNS Request" protocol=udp

add action=drop chain=input comment="block everything else"

(7) Improve your Input chain.