Community discussions

MikroTik App

Rossen
just joined
Topic Author

Mikrotik products packaging

Fri Apr 14, 2023 8:38 am

Hi guys,
Apologies if this is not the correct place for this topic, but I wasn't sure where to post it.

Last week I purchased a Hap Ax3 and a RB260GS switch from two different local online stores in my country.
Both of the devices didn't have plastic wrap or even stickers on the outer brown boxes. Meaning anyone from those stores could have had physical access to the devices.
Since this is my first time buying MT products - is this normal for the brand, like a green initiative or should I be worried?

Both products looked brand new and neatly packaged. I was so happy to dig into the new devices (I have been waiting for the hap ax3 since last year) that I started using them, but now I am starting to worry if they could have been compromised. I am not somebody important and I know this is bordering on paranoid, but I guess it is a question of principle.

Is it even possible for someone with physical access to do something to those devices (one runnning RouterOS and the other switchOS) and what would be the best way for me to check? By doing something I mean installing a backdoor, a rootkit, a sniffer or any other kind of malware. I checked for weird services, firewall rules, dns entries and everything seems to be the defaults, but I am not very advanced in networking.

Should I reflash the firmware just to be sure? Would that even help? Or should I complain and return the products? I really don't want to, since they are both awesome :)
The signal strength of the ax3 is amazing and the options I get from the software are great. I am coming from openWRT, which is great in its own right, but so far I think I like RouterOS better!

Thank you in advance for your feedback.

normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Re: Mikrotik products packaging

Fri Apr 14, 2023 9:15 am