Community discussions

MikroTik App

pelikuin
just joined
Topic Author

Hairpin nat equivalent

Wed Apr 19, 2023 1:05 am

I'm a noob with a hAP AX Lite, and read other posts where @anav said hairpin nat isn't necessary if using a separate subnet. So I put my SSH server on a 172 subnet and my internal clients are on a 192 subnet. I use this dst-nat rule
add action=dst-nat chain=dstnat comment="DMZ-SSH:4322 -> myhost31:22" dst-port=\
    4322 in-interface-list=WAN log=yes log-prefix="DMZ: " protocol=tcp \
    to-addresses=172.16.16.31 to-ports=22
It works externally, but not from the 192 network.

If I remove "in-interface-list=WAN" then anything crossing the router port 4322 goes to the SSH server, which isn't desirable.

I believe I need to specify my external IP as the destination address in the dst-nat rule, and have confirmed this works by manually entering it. But, my external IP is dynamic (I use DuckDNS.org), so how can I create a rule with my dynamic public IP in the destination of the dst-nat rule?

Many thanks

own3r1138
Long time Member
Long time Member

Re: Hairpin nat equivalent

Wed Apr 19, 2023 2:19 am

/ip firewall address-list
add address="duck-dns-record.domain.tld" list=name
Now use this as a dst-address-list in your NAT rule.

anav
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Wed Apr 19, 2023 4:02 am

You need to read the complete article, snippets can get you in trouble........ context is always critical.
viewtopic.php?t=179343

Being in a different subnet absolves the admin of the need for the sourcenat hairpin rule yes, but it doesnt excuse the OP from constructing a proper
combination of forward chain rule and dst-nat rule based upon
a. whether the IP is dynamic
OR
b. whether the IP is static.

If you already have a dyndns URL, iP address, then its simple as using your IP cloud address.....
/ip firewall address list
add address=mynetname list=mywanip
OR
add address=duckdns.org list=mywanip

/ip nat