Community discussions

MikroTik App

JexSrs
just joined
Topic Author

VLANs and trunk/access ports

Wed May 10, 2023 7:37 pm

Hello everyone,

I am new to the MikroTik world and generally in networking and I want to create some VLANs along side a trunk port and access port.
We will only touch the main MikroTik (hEX S) and not the switch or other devices.

The result I want to achieve is to create four VLANs in my MikroTik router and trunk all of them to one port so my Unifi switch can use them.
I also want an access port for only one of the VLANs to be able to access that network directly from the router.

My setup is as follows:

Bridges
1. bridge_main: A bridge with minimal configuration
  • It has no VLANs
  • It has a DHCP server attached
  • The addresses are 10.0.0.1/23
  • It is assigned to ether5 (to connect to the mikrotik without caring for the rest of the setup, like a fail-safe) ports.
2. bridge_shared: A bridge where all configuration will be done
  • All VLANs are assigned to it
  • VLAN Filtering is enabled
  • It is assigned to ether2 as a trunk port and for testing each VLAN to ether4 as an access port for (this case) vlan10_iot
VLANs
1. vlan10_iot
  • ID is 10
  • It has a DHCP server attached
  • The addresses are 10.0.10.1/24
  • It is attached to bridge_shared
2. vlan20_security: With similar configuration as above
3. vlan30_home: With similar configuration as above
4. vlan40_guest: With similar configuration as above

The address of the router is 10.0.0.1 (which falls inside the bridge_main dhcp server range).

This was the abstract part, the actual configuration is:
/interface bridge # Create the bridges
add admin-mac=08:55:31:DA:F6:E0 auto-mac=no name=bridge_main
add name=bridge_shared vlan-filtering=yes

/interface vlan # Create the VLANs and and assign them to the bridge_shared
add interface=bridge_shared name=vlan10_iot vlan-id=10
add interface=bridge_shared name=vlan20_security vlan-id=20