Community discussions

MikroTik App

Stourview
just joined
Topic Author

AP ax^2 Default config

Wed Jun 07, 2023 4:52 am

Hi All

First I would like to say that I am new to ROS7, but looks good and I particularly wanted to explore wireguard BUT ...

I'm not sure what the original config of the AX2 was but I have reset it several times due to errors I have made and it does not come back with any default config - or at least nothing I was expecting.

When using a HapLite in ROS6 it would install a default config with basic wireless, all lan ports bridged, DHCP, NAT and function as a basic AP/Router.

This AX2 does none of that. I'm struggling to get basic functionality out of it, Does anyone have a basic setup I can load into it please?

Also when I use the system/Reset Configuration option it seems to screw up the password so that I cant get in, I have to do a hard reset and wipe the thing. Am I missing something?

The AX2 looks good, great spec but so far not doing anything for me but consuming all the spare time I have.

Would appreciate any help anyone can give to get me (re)started.

Many thanks

Dave

holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Re: AP ax^2 Default config

Wed Jun 07, 2023 6:42 am

Which version is currently on the device ?
You may want to start with netinstall, I recommend version 7.8 as latest or if you're adventurous, use 7.10rc3.
Avoid 7.9-chain (my view).

The fact you can not get in after changing the password sounds familiar to me ... (created sup-ticket for 3 AX devices with similar behavior after upgrading from 7.8 to 7.10rc3. But netinstall to 7.10rc3 went flawless, go figure...).

Stourview
just joined
Topic Author

Wed Jun 07, 2023 8:36 am

7.92 currently. I'll start with 7.8 and see what happens, thanks.

holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru

Wed Jun 07, 2023 8:45 am

For completeness, default script on AX2 attached (based on 7.10rc1 but should not be that much difference).