Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 7:39 pm

Today I noticed strange problem, my phone connects to WiFi but says that device can't provide internet.

Laptop and wife's phone connects without a problem to the same SSID and they have internet connection. I tried to forget network and to reboot my phone and nothing helped.

I can connect to other SSIDs without any problem.

Any advice what to try next ?
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5671
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 7:58 pm

Check if the phone got an IP address.
Check on your router if a lease was handed out to your phone (check with MAC address visible on your phone from previous step).
Disconnect your phone, manually remove lease of your phone if present, then connect again.

What router are you using ?
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 8:57 pm

I'm using ax3 as router, phone connects to cAP ax managed by capsman.

Phone have static lease, no randomnised MAC address, gets IP, i can see in log that it's connected but still no internet.

Nothing was changed, in the morning everything was fine, left for work and when i get home no internet on phone, but everything else is working on this SSID.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5671
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 9:00 pm

Create supout.rif on ax3 (just in case) and then reboot.
What happens then ?
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11858
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:18 pm

I've seen same behaviour also when DNS server (e.g. configured in DHCP lease) didn't respond to queries.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5671
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:23 pm

I've seen same behaviour also when DNS server (e.g. configured in DHCP lease) didn't respond to queries.
Interesting. How did you diagnose that problem ?
And reboot of DNS server/service solved the issue ?
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:34 pm

So, I do have dedicated DNS (Adguard Home running on separate RPI4) but that wasn't the problem. I rebooted the router and now my phone works on main WiFi. I didn't rebooted DNS server.

One more thing, i set DNS only for main network, other networks use default DNS settings from router.

What is weird is that only my phone didn't work (i still had access to local network and when i tried to go for eg to youtube or something i didn't get DNS error but no internet access)

I have supout file but reboot solved the problem so i dont know is there a point to bother support with this.
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5671
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:35 pm

That's why I suggested to create that supout.
The problem is hidden in there.

Reboot solved it.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:42 pm

Checked DNS logs and until reboot there was no requests from phone to server.

You think i should send file to support ?
 
holvoetn
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5671
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2021 2:14 am
Location: Belgium

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:49 pm

Least that can happen is that they can't find any problem.
Best case they do see an issue and then it can be fixed for everyone.

So yes, I think it might be worthwhile.

When you create the ticket, point them to this thread so you don't have to rewrite everything :lol:
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 10:58 pm

Yes, you are right, will do that, maybe is a bug...

I also tested with upstairs AP before rebooting, and with 2.4 and 5 GHz SSID, same results so it was router related... Also no errors or something in router logs.
 
User avatar
mkx
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 11858
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2016 10:23 pm

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Thu Jul 27, 2023 11:01 pm

I've seen same behaviour also when DNS server (e.g. configured in DHCP lease) didn't respond to queries.
Interesting. How did you diagnose that problem ?
And reboot of DNS server/service solved the issue ?
My server, which runs DNS service for my LAN, was down (some idiot connected it to wrong power outlet and power went AWOL :wink:). After server came back to life, phones "got internet back" even though their IP setup didn't change.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Fri Jul 28, 2023 10:25 pm

So support said that they didn't find problem in supout file, and i had to reboot router again, same problem, only time my wife's phone also didn't have connection.

After reboot it's working again. I didn't reboot DNS server.

Also i tried to access google.com using IP address and nothing, no internet connection. If this is DNS error then i should be able to access web sites by entering IP ?
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Topic Author
Posts: 1251
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: Phone connects to WiFi but says no internet

Sat Jul 29, 2023 9:36 am

Turns out it was DNS problem, I removed adguard DNS and put gateway as DNS and now it's working again.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Elipso, nizce and 11 guests