Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
keengear
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 12:08 pm

hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:49 pm

Hi Forum,

I've bought a hAP ax3 as my first Mikrotik device and set it up as access point with RouterOS 7.8 (or 7.6).
In the beginning it had some weird performance issue, but it worked fine and reliable after that.
I did test using iperf3 to a wired client and would get like ~500mbits in real life situations and up to 800 when placing the client right next to the router.
Since I wanted to replace my old router now I did update RouterOS to 7.12.1 and WiFi started having issues. The 5GHz network couldn't be found at first. Now that I able to connect to it I already had the connection drop once on a device.
Further the performance is degraded and I get around twice the speed running iperf3 upload vs download. Where I sit right now I get ~120mbits download speed and ~200mbits upload speed. Before the update I would roughly get 350 where I am right now.

Should I change anything with the configuration (see below)? The WiFi performance was nothing to write home about, but at least it was reliable. Any help appreciated!

# 2023-11-30 11:25:22 by RouterOS 7.12.1
# software id = JV3Q-KDY8
#
# model = C53UiG+5HPaxD2HPaxD
# serial number = ***
/interface bridge
add name=local
/interface wifiwave2 security
add authentication-types=wpa2-psk disabled=no name=sec wps=disable
/interface wifiwave2 configuration
add country=Germany disabled=no name=r24 security=sec ssid=mywifi24
add country=Germany disabled=no name=r50 security=sec ssid=mywifi50
/interface wifiwave2
set [ find default-name=wifi1 ] configuration=r50 configuration.mode=ap disabled=no
set [ find default-name=wifi2 ] configuration=f24 configuration.mode=ap disabled=no
/interface bridge port
add bridge=local interface=ether2
add bridge=local interface=ether3
add bridge=local interface=ether4
add bridge=local interface=ether5
add bridge=local interface=ether1
add bridge=local interface=wifi1
add bridge=local interface=wifi2
/ipv6 settings
set max-neighbor-entries=15360
/ip address
add address=192.168.178.210/24 interface=local network=192.168.178.0
/ip dns
set servers=192.168.178.1
/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=192.168.178.1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=Europe/Berlin
/system note
set show-at-login=no
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes
/system ntp client servers
add address=192.168.178.1
 
User avatar
Kentzo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:35 pm
Location: California

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 2:28 am

What do you see in the logs? Do you see good signal under the Registration tab (/interface/wifiwave2/registration-table/print stats)? What about /tool/profile, do you see high CPU usage there?
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 7:44 am

You can't tell anything from this configuration you posted... Show us full configuration minus sensitive information. Show r50 and f24 configuration.
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26378
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 7:55 am

r50 and f24 can be seen there - it's only ssid and country.

still, OP needs to enable

/system logging add topics=wireless,debug

and check logs, when this disconnect happens.

Also, putting wireless router too close can cause strong interference. Keep a few meters distance.
 
gigabyte091
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1194
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2021 11:44 am
Location: Croatia

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 8:15 am

My bad, didn't look carefully enough...

my 2 cents, scan area to see which channel is less crowded, set your frequency manually to the least crowded one, don't leave it on auto. Is there a lot of 5GHz networks around you ?
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 26378
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 8:23 am

The 5GHz network couldn't be found at first. Now that I able to connect
Maybe the router found a radar. Delay means DFS radar scan is taking place. Are you sure the PC didn't connect to 2GHz while radar scan took place?
 
keengear
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 12:08 pm

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 12:36 pm

Thank you everyone for your responses, I really appreciate your time and help.
I will try to answer your inquiries to the best of my abilities.
Through buying this MT and reading through the documentation I already learned a lot, but it is all new to me, so please be patient.

Today a couple of speed tests yielded way better results, I am hitting 700-800mbits very close and around 300-400mbits in normal scenarios. So it seems the performance is back to normal (for now?)
Still my devices have a hard time finding the 5GHz network and connecting to it. Could it be related to Apple? I never had any issues, but Apple and MT gets mentioned in this forum quiet a bit.
Unfortunately I don't have devices using the 5GHz spectrum outside of those Apple devices:
  • MacBook Pro 2019 Intel running MacOS 14 (AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA)
  • iPhone 11 Pro Max running iOS 16 (BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB)
  • iPhone 14 Plus (main phone) running iOS 17 (CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC)

About the placement and neighbours: I live in the middle of a very crowded city, the device is placed in the middle of the apartment on a locker at around 230cm height. There is pretty much no place in the apartment further than say 8m and never more than one wall (where it counts at least).
So the signal should be pretty good, but congested.
I am not aware of any radars and I never had any issues with 5GHz ac WiFi on other devices before.

Those networks are currently found by my Laptop:
$: /System/Library/PrivateFrameworks/Apple80211.framework/Versions/A/Resources/airport scan

                            SSID BSSID             RSSI CHANNEL HT CC SECURITY (auth/unicast/group)
                             ***                   -88  6       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -86  44      Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -83  36      Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -83  11      Y  -- RSN(PSK,SAE/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -81  56      Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -80  108     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -80  56      Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -79  100     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -78  11      Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -77  6       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -76  108     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -74  100     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -72  6       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -71  1       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -71  116     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -71  116     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -71  116     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -70  36      Y  -- RSN(PSK,SAE/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -70  1       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -67  1       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -60  11      Y  -- RSN(PSK,SAE/AES/AES)
                             ***                   -55  1       Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                        mywifi24                   -50  1,+1    Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)
                        mywifi50                   -61  144     Y  -- RSN(PSK/AES/AES)

To answer your questions:
What do you see in the logs? Do you see good signal under the Registration tab (/interface/wifiwave2/registration-table/print stats)? What about /tool/profile, do you see high CPU usage there?
The registration table looks like this:
[admin@MikroTik] > /interface/wifiwave2/registration-table/print stats

Flags: A - authorized
 0 A interface=wifi1 ssid="mywifi50" mac-address=BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB uptime=10h46m17s signal=-74 tx-rate=114.7Mbps rx-rate=144.1Mbps packets=2738904,185920
     bytes=3911133059,17375055 tx-bits-per-second=202.6kbps rx-bits-per-second=91.9kbps

 1 A interface=wifi1 ssid="mywifi50" mac-address=AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA uptime=1h8m46s signal=-70 tx-rate=192.0Mbps rx-rate=144.4Mbps packets=1431,2709 bytes=474543,630346
     tx-bits-per-second=0bps rx-bits-per-second=0bps

 2 A interface=wifi1 ssid="mywifi50" mac-address=CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC uptime=1h2m15s signal=-68 tx-rate=432.4Mbps rx-rate=360.3Mbps packets=1031599,62581 bytes=1540027967,5402221
     tx-bits-per-second=0bps rx-bits-per-second=0bps
The CPU Usage seems OK. One of the phones is downloading a few GB of update. Other than that just some background noise.
[admin@MikroTik] > /tool/profile

Columns: NAME, USAGE
NAME          USAGE
ethernet      0.7%
console       0%
networking    1.2%
management    0.3%
bridging      0.1%
unclassified  1.1%
total         3.4%
I enabled the logging of those topics as suggested. Looking at the logs it seems like the topic wireless was being logged already.
...
still, OP needs to enable

/system logging add topics=wireless,debug

and check logs, when this disconnect happens.
The logs show this for today for example:
 00:30:57 system,info,account user admin logged out from 192.168.178.26 via ssh
 00:31:07 system,info,account user admin logged in from 192.168.178.26 via ssh
 00:31:10 system,info,account user admin logged out from 192.168.178.26 via ssh
 00:31:25 system,info,account user admin logged out from 192.168.178.26 via winbox
 00:31:25 system,info,account user admin logged out from 192.168.178.26 via winbox
 09:19:49 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -88
 09:39:35 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 connected, signal strength -56
 09:58:01 wireless,info AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -55
 09:58:02 wireless,info AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi1 connected, signal strength -71
 10:01:28 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -55
 10:02:12 system,info,account user admin logged in from 192.168.178.64 via ssh
 10:02:30 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 connected, signal strength -59
 10:02:50 system,info log rule added by ssh:admin@192.168.178.64 (*5 = /system logging add topics=wireless,debug)
 10:04:24 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -59
 10:04:24 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -59
 10:04:24 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 associated, signal strength -76
 10:04:24 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 connected, signal strength -76
 10:04:30 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -72
 10:04:30 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -72
 10:04:33 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 associated, signal strength -78
 10:04:33 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 connected, signal strength -78
All CC entries etc. are the same device, even though it might have used different MAC addresses, which iOS does by default for each network as a privacy measure.



The 5GHz network couldn't be found at first. Now that I able to connect
Maybe the router found a radar. Delay means DFS radar scan is taking place. Are you sure the PC didn't connect to 2GHz while radar scan took place?
This is very well possible. 2,4GHz band seems to work reliably and is performant (around 100mbits and more are possible). How would I figure out whether DFS radars are scanning near my place?
I have read numerous times online, that people simply disable the check (as well as change the power settings). But as I have no clue why these limits are imposed on the user,
I didn't want to mess with those settings. Also had hopes the default settings will be just fine, as my use case doesn't seem special at all.



If there is anything lacking please advise me on what information you need. Thank you again!
 
keengear
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 12:08 pm

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Fri Dec 01, 2023 11:34 pm

And more of the same it seems. I left for a while with my phone and when I came back it connected with the 2,4GHz radio, but it seems it also dropped connection. The phone couldn't find the 5GHz network for a while, it appeared for a short moment, but before I was able to connect it was gone again.
The connection on my laptop was shown as there, but it didn't work. So I disconnected and now it can't find the 5GHz radio either.
 15:06:00 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -83
 15:06:00 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi1 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -83
 15:26:41 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 associated, signal strength -61
 15:26:42 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 connected, signal strength -60
 21:14:15 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -55
 21:14:15 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -55
 21:14:19 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 associated, signal strength -59
 21:14:19 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 connected, signal strength -58
 21:14:19 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -58
 21:14:19 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -58
 21:14:51 wireless,debug CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 associated, signal strength -56
 21:14:51 wireless,info CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC@wifi2 connected, signal strength -55
 22:22:34 system,info,account user admin logged in from 192.168.178.64 via ssh
 22:29:45 wireless,info AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi1 disconnected, connection lost, signal strength -71
 22:29:45 wireless,debug AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi1 disassociated, connection lost, signal strength -71
 22:31:51 wireless,debug AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi2 associated, signal strength -51
 22:31:51 wireless,info AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA@wifi2 connected, signal strength -51
 
CC is the phone AA the laptop. It seems the 5GHz network just hangs or so. I had bad performance, but that is new and wasn't the case with older versions or any other device.
 
User avatar
Kentzo
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 529
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 3:35 pm
Location: California

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Sat Dec 02, 2023 12:08 am

Try setting `ft=yes`.
 
whatever
Member
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:29 pm

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Sat Dec 02, 2023 10:11 am

and/or security.connect-priority=0/1
 
keengear
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 12:08 pm

Re: hAP ax3 has (weird) WiFi issues (5GHz)

Wed Dec 06, 2023 1:03 pm

and/or security.connect-priority=0/1
This one sadly didn't help. I did restart the radio, I assume, because the 5GHz network reappeared.
I think I figured out so far, that I have to delete the network from my device in order for it to be able to see the 5GHz network.
I will try out setting ft=yes and report back.

Could it be my device is faulty? It is a super simple use case with the most simple config possible and yet there is issues connecting AND with the performance.
I bought the hAP ax3 in January, so there is still a little time to go into RMA I guess.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests