Page 1 of 1

Simultaneous use of SFP+ and Ether1 on RB5009?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 7:21 pm
by azdaja2005
Hi everyone,

One basic question but I would appreciate if someone could confirm it for me before i go this way...

I've never used SFP ports on MT routers. Right now I've got an RB5009UpR+S+ and I use ether1 for
a link to another 2.5 Gbit switch. I wonder can I install an SFP+ transceiver and use it for other high
speed connection, I mean, are SFP+ port and ether1 port independent of each other and can they
be used simultaneously (independent of each other)? Thanks.

Re: Simultaneous use of SFP+ and Ether1 on RB5009?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 8:07 pm
by gigabyte091
Both ports are connected to the switch chip and I don't see any reason why they can't be used at the same time. Add them to your bridge and that's it.

Re: Simultaneous use of SFP+ and Ether1 on RB5009?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 8:17 pm
by holvoetn
Correct.
Only "problem" with RB5009 is when you use a normal ethernet SFP, it can run quite hot. Especially when using MT's own S-RJ10.
It can go VERY hot ...

Re: Simultaneous use of SFP+ and Ether1 on RB5009?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 8:27 pm
by gigabyte091
I agree, i had S-RJ10 and I replaced it with 10gig fibre run between my RB5009 and CRS310. I knew that S-RJ10 can heat up but i didn't feel comfortable leaving it in my RB5009... There was quite a lot of heat...

Re: Simultaneous use of SFP+ and Ether1 on RB5009?

Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 10:40 pm
by azdaja2005
Thanks a lot guys, appreciate it!